Bonus bag – A Miscellany of 7 inchers

The package dropped heavily onto my door mat.  By the very sound of it I knew it was something heavy.  I abandoned my work and ran to the hallway, and picked up a large cardboard envelope, covered in clear tape, with a US customs sticker on it that read ‘records’.  I knew straight away what it was. 

Ages ago I did a post which mentioned some great new bands I had come across – including The Rubrics, who hail from Greenville, South Carolina.  Ryan, who plays guitar and does vocals for this three piece, emailed me after the article was posted, and promised to send me a package, in the best punk rock traditions.  And a few weeks later, he was good to his word!  Three thousand or so miles lay between us, and he is now $11.60 poorer, but I hope that you will now buy his records and help out his bank balance!!! Thanks a ton for the records Ryan, and here is the review!

So, on clawing open the package, what did I get here?

The first 7″er out of the package was ‘Sow Your Seeds’ by The Rubrics.  A four tracker, this ep came with button badge and photocopies lyric sheet; I felt 16 again! it’s also a great little slab of high energy DIY flavoured punk rock.  As I said in July, “It’s basic as hell, choppy, pogo inducing punk rock of the finest quality, with messy shared vocals, fuzzy guitar and that whole late 80s Gilman Street vibe about it, think Crimpshirine for example.”

Next up, we have a copy of the Criminal Culture/Rubrics split 7″ which I reviewed in the post I mentioned above.  On lovely, cider coloured vinyl, it’s a nice little addition to my collection as well as being a showcase for these two great bands.

And then we’re on to two new ones [new ones to me, anyway].  Burning Bridges have been going about a year, and are a three-piece from New Hampshire.  This one is a bit of a departure from the full on hardcore style – they seem to be more like Rites of Spring, with the vocalist doing a good impression of Guy Picciotto’s emotional vocal style.  And I guess Fugazi would be another reference point.  I didn’t really like this when I first heard it, as I’m naturally suspicious of anything that labels itself ‘Emo’, but it is kind of growing on me now.  See what you think.

The fourth and last of the 7″ discs that tumbled from the cardboard was another split, this one by Nona and Peeple Watchin’.  Three tracks a piece mean a super value little record, and a suitably punk cover photo of a skater doing a gnarly frontside rock n roll on a mini ramp raised my hopes.  So what are they like? Nona are to the best of my knowledge a three piece with a female singer and a mid-paced, basic punk sound that put me in mind of some of the late 80s UK indie bands such as Primitives and so on.  Some nice harmonies and tuneful punk – I like it.  Flipping the disc, as Dave Lee Travis would have said, we have Peeple Watchin’.  They are a three piece again, and they proffer a more energetic, straightforward pop punk sound.  The vocalist sounds like he’s got a really bad sore throat, but they deliver a dose of good solid punk noise.

Comment on this Article

